Logo Utrecht University

Perpetrator Studies Network


6 July 2018
University of St Andrews, Scotland, UK

Rwanda After 1994: Stories of Change

Confirmed Keynotes: Esther Mujawayo-Keiner and Malaika Uwamahoro

Rwandan Stories of Change is pleased to announce an international conference to be held at the University of St Andrews on the 6th of July 2018. We will bring together scholars from across the Humanities and Social Sciences to explore how Rwanda has changed since the genocide of 1994.

Since 1994 Rwanda has undergone remarkable shifts and transitions: culturally, economically, and educationally the country has gone from strength to strength. This conference seeks to gather diverse perspectives on the changing social and cultural fabric of Rwanda in the past 24 years. We invite participants to consider the context of these changes, particularly in relation to the ongoing importance of remembering and in wider developments in the Great Lakes and East Africa regions. Equally we are keen to explore what stories of change are emerging from Rwanda: creative writing and testimonies, as well as national, regional, and international political narratives. Which frameworks might be most useful for understanding different kinds of change? And looking forwards, what new directions are emerging, and how will Rwanda’s trajectory be shaped by other global factors?

The conference programme has now been finalised and you can register here. Attendance at the conference is free and a small number of postgraduate travel bursaries will be available. Maps and travel information are provided online, and accommodation can be booked here and here.

Confirmed speakers: Laura Apol, Elham Atashi, Jonathan Beloff, Ananda Breed, Eloїse Brezault, Emma Brunton, Piotr Cieplak, Phil Clark, Bennett Collins, Erika Dahlmanns, Georgina Holmes, Astrid Jamar, Erin Jessee, Grace Kagoyire, Meghan Laws, George MacLeod, Sela Muyoka, Ayala Maurer-Prager, Zoe Norridge, Richard Ntakirutimana, Nicola Palmer, Patricia Pasick, Paul Rukesha, Benjamin Thorne, Julia Viebach, Ceri Whatley, Stephanie Wolfe.